I am equal parts appalled and amused by email scams.  It breaks my heart when I hear someone has lost their life’s savings to one of these pricks, usually the eldely and/or retired, but at the same time I find it hard to believe that anyone falls for them.

Here’s one I received recently:

Hello,

With due maximum respect, I here by apologize for the inconveniences caused by this proposal which comes’ to you as a surprise I am Barrister Dennis Chang, a registered Legal practioner.

A deceased client of mine,that shares the same last name with you, who here in after shall be referred to as my client died as a result of a heart-related condition on March 12th 2007 leaving behind a deposit valued at $17.5 million dollars. 

His heart condition was due to the death of all the members of his family in the Hurricane Katrina disaster of August, 2005. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hurricane_Katrina 

I have contacted you to assist in distributing the money left behind by my late client to escape confiscation or declared un-serviceable by the bank in  which  the $17.5Million United States Dollars  [USD$17,500,000] is deposited 

Contact me  for more information. 

Best Regards,

Dennis Chang ESQ,

Tel: +60102931925

Email:dcdenischag@gmail.com 

He gets double prick points for preying on the Katrina disaster.  Knowing full well that my email doesn’t contain my name, I decided to reply:

“That is so interesting and very welcome news.  What was that last name again?”

Today I received his follow up email:

Dear Bunny Gumbo,

How are you doing?,  I am Dennis Chang, a registered Malaysian Lawyer, working with Cehn Lim & Asociates here in Malaysia. I contacted you purely based on the fact that your surname tallies with that of my late client, and not necessarily that he is a biological or blood relative of yours.

Mr Andrew Banda Gumbo  was my deceased client who died as a result of a heart-related condition on March 12th 2007 leaving behind a deposit valued at $17.5 million dollars. His heart condition was due to the death of all the members of his family in the Hurricane Katrina disaster of August, 2005. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hurricane_Katrina

I know this sounds like a scam because of a lot of activities going on the internet. But I assure you that this is real.

I was the legal representative/adviser of the deceased Mr Andrew Banda Gumbo, and according to law, this entails that I am mandated to take care of all legal aspects of his business even though he is no longer alive.

As it may interest you to know that I got your contact through a name search directories as I was going through online directories to see if I can get a relative of him, but  fortunately for me I came across your contact and decided to contact you since you have the same last name with him, perhaps you might be his relative and would like to champion such a business magnitude without any problem.

My proposal is that I want you to put up a claim to this fund, so that, the bank where this huge amount is lodged in Malaysia here can  release the money into your account as the beneficiary/next of kin  since you have the same last name, and after the money is been transferred to you, then you will take 40%, of $US17.5Million, 50% will be remitted to less privileged and orphanage homes, while 10% will be remitted to my office.  As his legal representative/adviser, I am the only one who can confirm to the bank, the claim by anyone as his next of kin/beneficiary of this fund and also authorize payment of this fund to such a person.

Concerning the legal aspects of this inheritance (claim),you have nothing to worry about, as a custodian of the constitution I have dully observed the implications before Contacting you hence I will not go contrary to laws that are being enshrined in the Constitution, With all my years of experience as a legal practitioner, I can authoritatively and confidently assure you that all aspects of this transaction are totally safe and has no hazard of whatsoever, every aspect of this transaction will be legally conducted and all the documents that will support you legally to this claim will be provided by my office.

If you have carefully read all I have explained above and accept to act accordingly and confidential, then give me a confirmation to initiate the process and then send you an Affidavit form for you to fill in the required information to enable me file for the legal supporting documents in your favor as the next of kin to my late client.

Note that the success of this kind of business transaction is dependent on the ability of the parties involved to treat this business with great confidentiality as third parties usually creates complications. Therefore treat this matter extremely confidential and do not involve any third party to this transaction no matter whoever he/she may be until we share our percentage, I will like to speak with you on phone privately at your leisure time for more discussion, let me have your valid phone contact plus your country code to speak with you or you may contact me through my private number below.

Best Regards,

Barr. Dennis Chang

Cehn Lim & Asociates

Suite 7c-2, Wisma TCT 516-1 Batu 3

Jalan Ipoh 51200 Kuala Lumpur

Email: dcdenischag@gmail.com

Private Contact: +60102631925

Can’t wait to find out more info about my relative, Andrew Banda Gumbo.

