The Robert Chesley/Victor Bumbalo Playwriting Grant is an annual competition for playwrights of LGBT theatre.  The grant seeks to encourage LGBT themed work that makes a substantial contribution to the theatrical repertoire and community.


The Foundation underwrites a three-month residency at the Helene Wurlitzer Foundation in Taos, New Mexico.  In addition, awardees receive a $1,000 stipend for personal expenses. The Wurlitzer Foundation is located on eighteen acres in the heart of Taos.  Past recipients include Maria Irene Fornes, Lisa Kron, Robert Patrick, Christopher Shinn, Paula Vogel and Doric Wilson.


We would greatly appreciate it if you would share information regarding submissions with your students or associates with whom you believe would benefit.  I will happily forward information to them should you want to simply provide contact information.  Submissions for the 2016 competition must be postmarked no later than January 16, 2016.   There is no entry fee.  Submissions must consist of the full manuscript and be clearly marked “Chesley/Bumbalo Competition” on the application form and script.  Playwrights may submit only one manuscript per year. Awards will be announced by June 1, 2016.


To apply for the award, playwrights are asked to go to  There they can download and submit a fully executed application form along with their script to the following address:


The Helene Wurlitzer Foundation of NM

Atten: Chesley/Bumbalo Playwrighting Competition

P.O. Box 1891

Taos, NM 87571


Manuscripts cannot be returned after the competition. No bound or stapled scripts please.  For additional information, you can find us at or  If you have further questions, please contact the foundation’s president Victor Bumbalo at


Thank you for your support of playwrights and the LGBT community.




Robin Stanton

Chesley Award Committee